Find copyright friendly images for your creative projects.
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2016
Find a photo or image from these great, free sources. This list is great for projects and slideshows. Please remember to give credit to the creator.
Browse the image library for copyright friendly photos and images.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Search over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections.
Over 180,000 items in their digital collection are in the public domain. No permission required to use the images.
- The Getty -Getty Search Gateway
Search more than 85,000 free images. You can download and re-use the images as long as you give proper attribution for the source of the image.
- Life photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, 1860 to today.
- Flickr's Creative Commons Portal
Browse through the images posted by Flickr users who have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license.
Search this Public Domain digital photography collection for copyright free images under Creative Commons Public Domain Dedication license CC0.
Search millions of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Search the professional photos contributed by many artists. Be sure to give credit the the artist.
- American Museum of Natural History
Search the museum's digitized images, art and rare book collection illustrations.
- Internet Archive Book Images
Over 2 million images ranging from 1500 through 1922.
Please remember to cite your photos and images.
When you use a photo or image that you did not create, it should be cited like all other resources. Use NoodleTools for the proper citation format.
This may be the world's largest photo archive. The public domain images come from institutions from around the world. The program's objectives are "to increase access to publicly-held photography collections and to provide a way for the general public to contribute to information and knowledge."